“It ain’t my fault the cashier messed up”

I am not a fan of Wal-Mart.  Sure they have good prices but you end up paying the full price waiting in line for 30 minutes to even check out.  Anyway, I went to a brand new store over the weekend while I was waiting for my wife to get her nails done around the corner.  To burn time I figured I would go check out this new Super Wack-Mart.  It was nice I must admit.  Clean white floors, a band playing grand opening music, and the greeter actually was happy to be there.  I was shocked and thought this has to be too good to be true.

I was walking up to the register and noticed a first ever for Wal-Mart.  There was enough cashiers that I didn’t have to wait in line. I bet if I went back in a month they would have the typical 30 minute wait to checkout. 

I ended up buying some toothpaste and shaving cream.   The total came to $5.01 and I gave the girl a $20.  I wished I had the penny but oh well.  So the cashier ended up giving me $9.99 which was $5 short and she said she needed to get her boss to give me the refund. When the cashier went over to tell her boss it looked like it didn’t go well because her boss was shaking her head at her.  I was thinking that is a pretty bad boss to shake your head at a employee because of a very small mistake.  So I watched the boss take her sweet old time to come give me the rest of my money back and trust me she took her sweet old time.  She was walking slower than the people who have to run/jog/walk on the biggest loser.  I made a little comment to her and she went on to say “it ain’t my fault the cashier messed up”  this was the boss ripping on the employee. I was shocked the manager said that out loud.  Then she walked away.  I told the cashier as I was leaving “don’t put up with that crap because that boss was the worst”. The cashier started laughing. It must not be hard to be a manger at Wal-Mart. 

At any rate I ended up going shopping again on Sunday and of course I had a great experience at Target, because they know how to treat customers and employees.

Do you think people are put in leadership roles that have no clue how to lead?

4 thoughts on ““It ain’t my fault the cashier messed up”

  1. Benjamin January 28, 2008 / 9:35 pm

    I hate Wal-Mart too! The only thing different in my experience was that I had to go to customer service to get my refund and stand in that line! I think that Wal-Mart does this on purpose to get some extra cash from people that don’t pay attention.

    I do have a question… If you are all about spending money, why does your wife get her nails done? 🙂

  2. Kari January 30, 2008 / 9:40 pm

    Walmart is so horrible sometimes. It’s scary to think of having to make change without the computers to do it for them. The other day, I shopped at super K-mart & it seems like they were pretty nice & the manager seemed knowledgeable when the cashier had troubles with the register. But I prefer target too.

  3. Bus January 31, 2008 / 9:16 pm

    Why don’t you try the self-checkout lane. I don’t think that I have ever spent more than 3 minutes waiting for one of those.

  4. hawash February 7, 2008 / 10:46 pm

    Bus…the self checkout line is only available at certain times of the day and at that time when they are available, half of them don’t work. 90 year olds working anywhere is depressing.

    There are huge amounts of managers that don’t know how to put two socks on, let alone manage.

Leave a Reply

