Compensation is why we work

Every Tuesday night I have class.  I am currently in a Human Development class which is a fancy name for Human Resources.  Last night in my class we were discussing what is important to us in job.  I knew right away what was very important to me.  Compensation! We all work to make money so we can afford to live.  I was very surprised that many of the others in the class said, “Job Security” was just as important.  I was not sure really why that is so important to them but here are my thoughts.

The reason why I think job security is less important is because I feel like if you work hard, that companies are less likely to let you go.  If a company is going through a ruff time and the need to re-org, then they will look at who they have and figure out who is getting the job done.  Why would they get rid of the hard worker over the average worker?  If I am a CEO, I would want the people who are helping my bottom line and working hard to build the company. 

So after I thought about that it then came to me that most people are not savers!  Many live paycheck to paycheck, and barely are able to make ends meet.  So of course they are going to need to have job security to pay the bills.  I am even willing to go out on a limb and say that many people actually worry and waste time about their job security frequently.

Do not get me wrong.  I think knowing that you have job security is great.  However, if you were able to save 3-6 months worth of salary by cutting little things out of your life,  than most people would not have to stress over this part of their job and enjoy the compensation they are earning.  If for some reason you get let go in a company then you know that you have that cushion to get you to your next job. Work hard and save.

What is the most important thing to you in the workplace?

Leave a Reply

