Economy update and some questions

I have been super busy recently.  Much has happened since we last talked and here are a few things on my mind about what is going on in the economy.

Gas prices each week continue to go up.  For the last three weeks when I have been filling up I have paid $33, $37, and today $45.  Wow! When I was filling up today I saw way more motorcycles recently in the valley.  I can only imagine that more and more people will be getting bikes.  Since I sold my car recently maybe I will get a scooter.  Probably not!  The point is Gas prices need to go down and I really can’t imagine people will keep paying these high prices.  When I am driving places now I even think of getting the most out of my drives.  If all consumers can cut down on Gas usage could we drive the price at the pumps down?  How do we get cheaper prices?  Oil keeps going up and so does my credit card bill.  If you can try to carpool.  If you need to go down the street to the store to pick up a few items, get some exercise and walk.  A final thought on Gas for all of you who are getting money back on the stimulus package from the government it looks like they gave it to us to pay for gas for a few months. I hope gas prices get better.

The stock market continues to roll like a coaster.  I hope all of you are sticking in it for the long run.  Keep funding, this will not last forever.  If you are a day trader good luck to you. 

The housing market is still tanking.  I saw a news story the other day and realized that more and more people are walking away from houses even thought they now can afford the payment.  People were saying why pay for a house that has dropped 100k?  I wonder if there will be any enforcement on all these people who are walking away.  I have a big post on this matter coming up soon.

Global Warming is getting on my nerves.  I hear so many people talking about it everywhere.  Many out there who think they know all, keep telling us to worry about this Global Warming and that we really need to take care of our environment.  My one question on this whole matter is that how can we for sure be experiencing global warming if local news professional can’t even predict rain, temperatures in the weekly forecast?

Okay that is all that is on my mind.  Looking forward to every ones thoughts.

3 thoughts on “Economy update and some questions

  1. Aaron Wakling April 23, 2008 / 3:00 am

    Good Blog. I will continue reading it in the future. Nice layout too.

  2. Jason May 2, 2008 / 11:01 pm

    Great post here moneywinks, I would like to hear your thoughts on the stock market right now. I am thinking about getting more heavily into it sense a lot of things are on the lower end right now and it would be a good time I believe to buy. Is there any specific stocks you have been watching rather closely and feel will either start to have a steady incline or are there some stocks that you feel will bottom out here soon and are worth the risk to pick up.

  3. moneywinks May 6, 2008 / 6:09 pm

    I think the stock market will continue to wave up and down. I’am a long term investor so I would suggest setting up a Roth IRA. Set yourself up for retirement. As far as stocks I do not trade those very often. If you can afford a share of Bershire Hathaway(A) stock it had around a 20% return last year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

