Car Insurance

In the past I wrote about how I saved 10% on switching car insurance companies.  As it turns out I was talking to my dad the other day and he told me that he has been with the same company for 25 years.  I challenged him to shop around telling him that he could save some money. So he called two different agency’s and sure enough he got back two quotes less than what he was currently paying.  One was for $400 less and the other was $800 for the whole year.  Keep in mind this had the same coverage as he was getting.  My dad switched.

Personally I think insurance agents should always be giving the best price.  I also think that everyone should shop around every 1-2 years to find the same coverage just for a better deal.  It never hurts to shop insurance.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Tim on May 21, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    That is rediculous that your dad’s car insurance agent was charging him so much! And he had been a customer for 25 years?! So much for loyalty. Your dad did the right thing by switching. Another reaon to shop around is that you might qualify for new discounts that you didn’t know about such as being married, owning a home and so on.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

